Sudo and rm = Careful

sudo rm -rf /*

I’ve been a Unix guy forever and getting with the program (Linux), I play with Linux and run a few servers.   Going to support sites and forums, I noticed a lot of advice was to sudo rm -rf /* in a terminal session.

To clarify, it wasn’t me.   I was looking for advice for an installation of a program.   When I bumped into this, I followed the steps all the way down to the rm command and stopped.    The attitude after the person did this was of bad taste.   If you elect to help people and to post to forums, don’t give destructive advice.  As I begin to open up to Linux projects,  I will be posting warnings on forums that give bad advice.     There are good and bad forums out on the web for Windows, Linux and MAC.   Any time you work in terminal or at a command prompt, with the kernel or registry, you risk destroying your computer.

DON’T run – sudo rm -rf /* -this command will get rid of everything.   Well, the desperate people in a few forums wanting to learn – was killed off by someone showing a little skill.   If you are experimenting with Linux, don’t run the commands if you haven’t researched them.

By the way, the commands may vary a little but yes, you can do this on a MAC.

About TCAT Shelbyville IT Department

The Tennessee College of Applied Technology - is one of 46 institutions in the Tennessee Board of Regents System, the seventh largest system of higher education in the nation. This system comprises six universities, fourteen community colleges, and twenty-six Applied Technology Colleges.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment