Windows error code (0xc1900200) – Creators Edition

Recently I was updating our home laptops and experienced Windows error code 0xc1900200.  Apparently the System Reserve partition is not large enough or is ‘too full’ to install the update.   Over at What’s On My PC, Rick experienced the same thing I was experiencing and we both ironically had to install MiniTools Partition Wizard Free in order to install the update by resizing this partition.

Rick’s apparently worked flawlessly as did three of our four installs at home.  However with one Acer laptop that I had upgraded to a SSD drive, the 100mb System Reserve Partition was at the front of my drive in Disk Management and my computer crashed after resizing the partition.

Instead of panicking, I inserted a Windows 10 CD that I had made and did a Startup Recovery (Click Repair once it starts up).  Once I did this, I still had issues – My desktop permissions were not correct.  How did I ultimately fix it?   I set the permissions by navigating to C: drive, users, and found the desktop folder.   The easy fix?   Right click the desktop folder, click the security tab, Advanced and set the permissions.

Note:  Because of the nature of resizing partitions and updating, it is recommended that you backup all of your data and programs.

About TCAT Shelbyville IT Department

The Tennessee College of Applied Technology - is one of 46 institutions in the Tennessee Board of Regents System, the seventh largest system of higher education in the nation. This system comprises six universities, fourteen community colleges, and twenty-six Applied Technology Colleges.
This entry was posted in Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Windows 10, Technology, Windows 10, Windows 10 Quick Tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Windows error code (0xc1900200) – Creators Edition

Leave a Reply

