Sometimes when the phone rings…

There are days when IT is hard work and you can’t wait to relax -and then there are days when a phone call gives you a second wind.  

Being a teacher, I always try to mention my former students here or on Facebook.  About three weeks ago I got a call from Cory Crabtree.  Cory is a former student who worked at a major retailer when he graduated high school.  

When Cory graduated our college in 2011, he went to work as an Analyst I with a US government contractor and within months he become a Tier II Analyst.   Cory later again moved up in IT with another contractor several times and is now a Sr. Technician in Huntsville.  


Cory has grown to be an IT professional that I now consider to be a peer.  To hear his commitment to providing his employers with a quality service, makes me truly proud.    If you knew him, you would know he is this type of person.    Life delivers challenges and it is up to you to overcome those challenges.

When I watch these challenges being overcome,  it changes me each and every time.   He is one of many slices of my life that provides me with the motivation to keep doing what I do.

Sometimes when the phone rings, it’s people changing their lives.   I really needed that phone call. 

See Also-

Surprise Visits

Carleton Corley

About TCAT Shelbyville IT Department

The Tennessee College of Applied Technology - is one of 46 institutions in the Tennessee Board of Regents System, the seventh largest system of higher education in the nation. This system comprises six universities, fourteen community colleges, and twenty-six Applied Technology Colleges.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

