Tomato – another wireless router firmware alternative

We have a ton of articles on DD-WRT and have used the firmware for a ton of different routers.   Recently we looked into Tomato another free firmware upgrade for the older Linksys WRT54G routers.

Tomato like DD-WRT offers a ton of features more than the factory firmware that came on the older Linksys (802.11g) routers.

My curiosity got the most of me when my father-in-law George brought me an older Linksys to tinker with.

I had initially had upgraded the WRT54G (Version 3.0) with DD-WRT and decided to give Tomato a try.  Navigating to Administration in the DD-WRT GUI, I followed the instructions of Tomato and upgraded the firmware.  I immediately noticed that the power light began to flash and fearing the worst, I thought I had ‘bricked’ the router.  The router would only respond to pings and I could not navigate to the Administration page or telnet into the router.

In order to try to get the router to function properly, I decided to use TFTP and upload the firmware again.  In order to do this, I entered the router’s IP and pointed to the firmware file. I manually set my ip address on my LAN NIC card to one number above the routers (last octet) and plugged a CAT5 cable into the router from my laptop.


I then unplugged the router and plugged in the router immediately clicked the upgraded button on TFTP.   This forced the firmware on the router as it rebooted.  I waited a good two minutes and unplugged the router to reboot it.

Tomato was successfully installed.

  • Status (Overview, Device List, Logs)
  • Bandwidth (Real-Time, Last 24 Hours, Daily, Weekly and Monthly)
  • Tools (Ping, Tracert, Wireless Security and WOL)
  • Basic Configuration (Network, Identification, Time, DDNS, Static DHCP and Wireless Filter)
  • Advanced Configuration (TCP, UDP Timeouts, NAT Helpers, DHCP, DNS, Firewall, Routing and Wireless)
  • Port Forwarding
  • Advanced QoS with live charts
  • Administration (Scripts, Schedules and more)



Device List \ Logs Network Noise Floor Overview




Tomato is a very stable firmware for several older routers and offers an alternative to factory firmware which often is unstable.

Full list of features-Tomato Firmware

About TCAT Shelbyville IT Department

The Tennessee College of Applied Technology - is one of 46 institutions in the Tennessee Board of Regents System, the seventh largest system of higher education in the nation. This system comprises six universities, fourteen community colleges, and twenty-six Applied Technology Colleges.
This entry was posted in Computers, freeware, network, Networking, Technology, Wireless and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tomato – another wireless router firmware alternative

  1. thejoff says:

    using tomatoRAF with new equipment. check it out, even more features on a much faster platform

Leave a Reply

