Technology Centers Becoming Colleges of Applied Technology; Recognized for Workforce Education

Full release from the Tennessee Board of Regents can be read here.

Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology Logo

“NASHVILLE, Tenn. (June 28, 2013) — The state’s workforce training schools known as Tennessee Technology Centers are being renamed Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology as of July 1.

The name change more accurately reflects the post-secondary training provided at the 27 campuses and many satellite locations across the state. The Tennessee Technology Centers have always been higher education institutions, offering post-secondary programs for workforce preparation. But the previous “center” title was often misunderstood.”


“Our colleges work closely with their surrounding communities to develop programs that support the workforce needs of their industries,” said James King, TBR vice chancellor for the Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology. “They play a major role in the workforce development from Memphis to Elizabethton, providing training in industrial, allied health, business and personal service programs for more than 30,000 students every year.”

“Our 84 percent placement rate soars above the national average,” said King.

That success has been noticed by national organizations and higher education leaders around the world. The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Wall Street Journal, National Public Radio, Chronicle of Higher Education and other education and media services have all profiled the institutions’ achievements in providing professional and skills training that meets student needs and business and industry demands.

The name change was made possible through legislation introduced by Representative Harry Brooks and Senator Jim Tracy and signed into law by Governor Bill Haslam.


About TCAT Shelbyville IT Department

The Tennessee College of Applied Technology - is one of 46 institutions in the Tennessee Board of Regents System, the seventh largest system of higher education in the nation. This system comprises six universities, fourteen community colleges, and twenty-six Applied Technology Colleges.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s